Expert on Rejection

So I got myself a brand spankin new A3 scanner and scanned all my images. A bit of an expense, but I had tried asking everyone I knew if they had one, without any luck. Another thing I could have done was to go to a photo shop and get them scanned professionally, but I did expect that to be expensive for so many pages and the scanner could prove useful in the future.

As I mentioned before, I had been doing a lot of reading up on sending off to different agencies and the one thing that stuck in my mind was ‘Prepare for rejection.’ So with this in mind, I still sent off the story and some of the images to quite a number of different places. It also said that it could take a while to hear back, but I’m a pretty patient person so I could wait.

So I waited and waited and waited some more. I think the first one came back within 6 weeks. It was all very positive about the story but really only one word could sum it up and that was ‘Rejection.’

The replies came in slowly after this and as with the first one, all very polite but still with the same result. It made me think of how my son must have felt every time  he just missed out on being in the county cricket team after getting so far. After the twelve reply and was beginning to become quite the expert on rejection. But it didn’t phase me, as I was kind of expecting this. So it was time for a re think……..

 

Leave a Reply

