Is it worth it ?

Ok, so who decides how much the book is going to cost ? Well when I was filling out all the initial paper work, I was asked what I felt would be a reasonable price for the book. I was advised to visit book shops and look at other books of a similar size and equal number of pages. Well I did this and came back with a figure in my head. So based on what I had seen in shops, I estimated between £4-99 and £5-99. Well you can image my surprise when it was decided that the book would cost £7.99. Now it wasn’t until I made another phone call and also read a load of info about book pricing, did I realise why. The other thing I needed to take into account was that the books I could see in the bookshops were mainly produced by the big publishing houses, so they are all mass produced. This of course would bring down the price of the book when more are printed in the first place.

Now I’m sure you realise that when you sell something through shops and publishers, they all have to take their cut/percentage. Well what I didn’t realise was that amazon take such a huge percentage. So by the time everyone has taken their percentage, the author gets whats left and believe me that isn’t much. The publishers percentage is reasonable, but amazon !! that is ridiculous.

Another thing I didn’t realise is that bookshops and also amazon are able to buy the books as cheap as they can before they sell then. Well all this was a bit of an eye opener to me as it seems that this happens with most things. I guess I should have known this, as you often see books in bookshops being sold a lot cheaper than the price on the back of the book. Anyway the best thing for me to do was to try and sell as many books as I could myself. I could reduce the price of the book, but it got to the point where I sat and thought how much time I had actually spent making this book and lets face it you can pay more than 7.99 for a monthly magazine.  Looking at it this way, personally it is worth more than this price as I am the one that put all the time into creating it.

At the end of the day, I don’t want to be selling at a loss. Oh dear all this is so frustrating. So after been given all this information, I realised why the book was given that selling price. Picture books are not cheap to make because they can be made up of total full colour pages ( like mine ) and not necessarily just a little small picture on a page. I suppose compared to a novel that has just one colour image on the front and back and everything else is black and white print in between. This is all the sort of stuff you don’t really think about when buying a book. Maybe all this could be done a lot cheaper if you did everything yourself, but I just didn’t feel confident enough to create the whole book myself. I felt it was definitely worth it leaving it all up to the experts.

Leave a Reply

