Time for Sharing

Once I had got over the initial excitement of having my very own story book, the next step was obviously going to be to share it as much as possible. Ok I know the publishers were doing some of the marketing for me, e.g. making it available on amazon, plus other shops, but I also need to do my bit. I decided that I wanted to make it available in other countries, so I got in touch with Matador again and they did this for me. I do have many friends living in the states and this was one of the reasons why I wanted to do this, especially as they had requested a copy when it was still in its sketchbook state.

I had to think of other things that would make the picture book appealing, especially to the Early Years age groups. So I came up with the idea of doing activity sheets to go with it. Well not really my idea, as these things have been around for years, but useful anyway. Where I work and probably like most other settings, we work to a theme each week and we always have activity sheets for the children to use when working on that particular theme. These could include colouring, writing frames etc. ( Ok I was going to insert an image, but for some reason it doesn’t want to play ball, so I will try again later ) These were all quite easy produced as I used quite a few images from the pages. It was also a good excuse to draw a few more.

So when I had completed a set of the sheets, who would be the first to hear my story ? Well it had got to be my very own class of Pre School children, I wonder what they will make of it 🙂

Don’t forget, this blog has only been up and running for about a week, so if you want to read more about how the book got to this stage, then just go back to the beginning. My posts are never very long, so it will not take long to catch up. Maybe you want to have a go at creating your own children’s picture book, this could help. Or maybe you love children’s stories and enjoy having  actual paper books in your hands to read to your kids ( and not the electronic version ). So many libraries seem to be shutting down in our area and this is all because of this digital revolution. This makes me so sad 😦 Don’t forget to add comments if you wish. Maybe you already have the book, I would love to hear from you. Come on, join in with the chitchat 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

