Take 1

IMG_4402So the set was ready. All presents wrapped up, various different props made and two cameras purchased for next to nothing from Ebay 🙂 If you look at Dad on the right, he is being held up with a kind of frame made out of a wire coat hanger. Ive got to admit, I wasn’t 100% happy with this so would probably need to have a re think. As for the actual finished set, I think it looks pretty much the same as the image in the book, but you are just going to have to get hold of the book yourself to find out how near it is to the story. I think I’ve done a good job, but making things is definitely my thing, as for the filming part, well thats another thing completely.

What made me think I could do this was a) I have been using a camera for years and years and b) I often produce mini film clips for local weather on television in time lapse and real time. These clips are shown regularly just about every week, so if I can produce footage that is good enough to go on air, I should be able to make a mini promotional clip for my book.

I decided to use a Brinno to do the filming. All those in the know when it comes to film and photography will know that this is a type of time lapse camera. Now I could have a go at doing this with my regular DSLR, but I thought this particular camera was perfect for animation. So I went ahead and made a simple test video.

The test video I did was with no added lighting ( I do have lights I can use ) but it was more of a test to see how I could make the characters move. Now unfortunately I have discovered that I cannot post this on here. I think this is something to do with the fact that it is a new blog and I have not yet upgraded. I will probably be doing this when I feel like I’ve got enough people interested in following the blog. As I am just a beginner when it comes to this blogging malarky, I obviously need to try it before I buy it as they say. Going back to the video clip though, if you do want to see the first little video clip test ( Take 1 as I like to call it ) you can view it on my ‘Billy’s New Camera’ Facebook page. It would be nice to get a few new followers over there. When I have a little more time, I would like to go back to my video clip and do the finished thing, but at the moment I am busy working with the publishers on picture book number 2 ( Billy’s second adventure ).

If you would like to comment, please do so. I do love a good natter and it would be nice to know if people are actually reading my posts. I know I do have a tendency to rabbit on a little, but I do like to talk and it would be great to hear your comments and thoughts.

Leave a Reply

